Kangaroo movements in first gear. Solution. see page 2.

Faults and Technical chat for the Skoda Karoq
Dadscar46

Post by Dadscar46 »

I have had my Karoq 1.5SE for nearly 3 months (1600 miles on clock). It has been a joy to drive but I do have one irritating feature which I read so well described in a post on Briskoda.Net recently as follows:-

"I wondered if other owners of 1.5 manual Karoq owners were having issues when pulling away on first gear. I just can't do it smoothly. I've tried low revs, high revs and just using the torque of the engine but to no avail. It's hard to explain what happens but I will try. I get the clutch bite point and go to increase the revs as I slowly lift the clutch further but the revs either jump up or bottom out and I "kangaroo" as if I'm a learner driver all other again. I have no issues in other gears as I change into them. Is it because the car is so new? It does get better when the car is warm but doesn't fully go away. Any help would be greatly appreciated. "

Does anyone in this forum experience this problem and, if so, do you have any explanation for the kangaroo habit. I have not mentioned it to the dealership yet, pending any replies to this post.

Mr H

Post by Mr H »

Just wonder if it could be due to the release of the electric handbrake not happening quick enough. Have mot had this problem myself though.
Lulubelle

Post by Lulubelle »

I have a similar issue when I go off in first gear and it may be down to the electronic brake release and me just getting plain used to it. But it’s smooth on an uphill slope moving off ...just a gentle kangaroo bounce on a flat surface.
Skoda Karoq, SE TSI 150, Candy White, Manual [June 2018 delivery]
Martin1199

Post by Martin1199 »